How to Find Your Passion (Newsletter Vol 2 Issue 3)

Live A Better Life Newsletter
(Tools and Tips for Intentional Living)

Volume 2 Issue 3, January 18, 2010
How to Find Your Passion
Subscribe now!

In This Issue:

Happy 2010!
How to Find Your Passion
Recommended Resources
Contact Me
About this Newsletter

Happy 2010!

Do you know what your dreams are?  If you want to make 2010 better by pursuing your passion, your dream, but don’t know what that is, this issue is for you. I have a collection of exercises I have successfully used with clients in our one-on-one sessions. This month, I share my favorite one with you.

Have a great day!

Lori Howard
Life, Career, and Business Coach
Unearth your worth™ today!

How to Find Your Passion

“I’d love to be following my passion, but how do I know what that is?” 

“How do I know I’ve found my passion?”

“I want to do something I love, but I don’t know what that would be!”

“What would I like to do?”

As a life and career coach who specializes in teaching people how to get a career and life they’ll love, I hear these questions all the time.  Typically the person asking feels foolish and embarrassed that they don’t already know the answer.  I mean, come on, doesn’t everyone know what they love?

Um, no.  For a whole host of reasons, from our background and upbringing, to lessons we were taught in school or church about what sort of life we should live, what should we expect from life, most of us wake up in our adulthood at some point feeling dissatisfied or empty.  We wonder – what should I be doing with my career and my life?  What would fill me with passion?  What is my dream? It’s not always easy to find out what you really want in life. So if you want to unearth your passions and dreams, where do you begin?

My favorite place to start looking is your childhood.  Yes, your dreams, the one’s that stir your soul, often begin to surface when you are very young.  And they continue to show up throughout your life.  How do you unearth them?

Sit down with pen and paper and think back over your life, and see if you can remember your dreams.  Organize your life into groups based on your age in years.  E.g., Years 0-5, Years 6-10, Years 11-15, Years 16-20, 21-25, 26-35, 36-45, and so on.  For each group, think back and call to mind anything that felt like an accomplishment, something you were proud of and enjoyed doing.  Make a list in each group.  It doesn’t matter how big or small it may seem.  It also doesn’t matter if anyone else thinks it’s an accomplishment.  What is important is that you feel it was an achievement, and that you enjoyed doing it.  Some examples I’ve seen include: learning to ride a bike, making clothes for dolls out of scraps, travelling overseas for the first time alone, making up a play and performing it for parents, buying a car for the first time, making a birthday card for dad and coloring it, and so on.  Keep in mind – this list doesn’t have to be complete or even historically accurate. (No one will be fact checking your work!)  It’s all about your point-of-view.  How do you see it?

Once you have your list, take a look for recurring themes.  What sort of things repeat?  Is it the act of learning new skills? Is it being outdoors?  Or perhaps some sort of creative artistic expression?  Do you write stories?  These recurring themes are clues to your dreams, your passions.  Note how you feel when you think of them now.  Do you smile? Feel a rush of excitement?  If you get stuck, show your list to a trusted friend or family member, or your coach, and ask for their take.  Often we are so tangled in the details of our memories that we can’t see the forest for the trees.  But others can. 

Now that you have some dreams, pick one or two.  As you think about them, do they still resonate for you?  Do you feel that spark of excitement and joy?  Maybe even a bit scared or nervous?  Excellent!  Sounds to me like you’re on the right path.  If not, then go back and pick another one from your list of dreams, and see if that one resonates for you.  If you’re still not finding any, no worries.  Sometimes your dreams don’t surface right away.  Put everything aside for a few days or even a week, and then come back and do the exercise again.  If you’re still feeling stuck, feel free to email me directly at lori@coachforabetterlife.com.

I encourage you to sit with your dreams a bit, play with them.  See how they feel.  Then you can begin to incorporate them into your life. 

And if you get stuck, send me your questions!

Go, unearth your dreams.

Post your thoughts below!

Recommended Resources

I’ve been researching online tools and websites with good career tests.  I found this one earlier today, and found it fun and useful.  If you like online tests then check out this link:  www.careergames.com

Contact Me

I welcome your feedback, comments and questions. Also, if you’re interested in contributing to this Newsletter, email me your submissions.

Tell me what you think about this newsletter by posting a comment below.

website: www.CoachforaBetterLife.com
blog: CoachforaBetterLife.wordpress.com
email: Lori@CoachforaBetterLife.com

Click here to Subscribe!
By subscribing to this newsletter, you will receive monthly tips, news, and information on how to live a more fulfilling life.

About this Newsletter
Copyright 2010 Lori Howard. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “How to Find Your Passion (Newsletter Vol 2 Issue 3)”

  1. How to love your job and career | Unearth Your Worth™ Says:

    […] interesting description of how to identify your passions.  Now I have written about this topic on my other blog, then today I found this helpful post – and wanted to share this info with you: […]

Leave a Reply

