Overcome Your Fear (Newsletter Vol 1 Issue 3)

Coach for a Better Life Newsletter
Overcome Your Fear
Volume 1 Issue 3, November 10, 2008

Subscribe now!

In This Issue:

Name the Newsletter Contest!
Overcome Your Fear
Recommended Resources
Contact Me
About this Newsletter

Name the Newsletter Contest! 

Help me name my newsletter! Winner receives a free one-hour power coaching session (valued at $100)! Email me your suggestions by December 1, 2008. Winner will be chosen for the January 2009 Issue.

Fear has been on my mind this month.  Perhaps its the influence of Halloween, the election, or the economy.  This issue reveals some concrete steps you can take to manage your fears, whatever they are, so they don’t keep you from living a live you love.

Sincerely,

Lori Howard
Life, Career, and Business Coach
Your Coach for a Better Life!

Overcome Your Fear

Fear.  Fear of failing.  Fear of losing.  Fear of being wrong.  Fear of change.  Fear is one obstacle that everyone encounters.  You can see it coming toward you, or it can sneak up on you when you least expect it.  It can slow you down, distract you, or stop you in your tracks.  It can even cause you to run in the opposite direction.  You can find yourself thinking “I would do thus and such – if only I wasn’t afraid.”  Fear, if left to its own devices, can become all consuming.

Great, you’re thinking.  Now what?  I admit it.  I’m afraid.  How do I stop? The truth is what you want to stop is being held back, impeded by your fear.  It doesn’t really matter if you feel fear, as long as you know how to manage it.

So what can you do, when you’re afraid?

  1. Step one is to admit it.  Stop fighting it. Fighting it can make it stronger. Acknowledgement doesn’t mean give in to it either.  Just recognize you are afraid.  Simply say, I am afraid.
  2. Next, name your fears.  Take a sheet of paper, and title it “Fears.” Now, list your fears by name.  Be specific.  Give yourself time for this task.  Write, “I am afraid that ….” Take your time.  Be gentle with yourself as you name your fears.  Curl up with your dog, sip a cup of herbal tea, listen to music that soothes you.  And name your fears.  All ofthem.   When you finish – standup, stretch, and take a few deep breaths.
  3. Now, look at your list of fears.  For each one, I want you to make a note, has this come to pass?  Has this fear come true? Has it already happened in your life? A simple yes or no will suffice here.  If the answer is yes, then that is no longer a fear, but a challenge for you to address. So take a separate sheet of paper, and title that “Challenges”, and copy this fear there, so you can address it later.
  4. Take a blank sheet of paper, and title it “Opposites.” For each fear that remains, those that have not yet come to pass, I want you to write down the opposite of the fear.  And when you write that opposite, write it in the present tense, e.g. I have, I am, I do.  For example:

    Fear:  “All my efforts will fail, I won’t accomplish anything significant in my life.”
    Opposite: “All my efforts paid off in the end.  I achieved great success and accomplished significant goals in my life and in the world.”

    Fear: “I will never get my book published.”
    Opposite: “I am a prolific writer and published author.  I am a best-selling author.”

  5. Next, take another blank sheet of paper, and title it “Opportunities.”  Look in each Opposite for at least one Opportunity for you.  You may find several Opportunities in a single Opposite.  Great! Write them all down. For example:

    Opposite: “All my efforts paid off in the end.  I achieved great success and accomplished significant goals in my life and in the world.”
    Opportunities:  “I can check out some volunteer organizations and go give some time to something that resonates for me. I can review my business goals and make sure my values are reflected in those. I can find a life coach or mentor to help me make sure I stay on track.”

    Opposite: “I am a prolific writer and published author.  I am a best-selling author.”
    Opportunities: “I can write another draft of my latest story.  I can go find a critique group to get some constructive feedback on my latest novel. I can send out more letters to possible agents.”

  6. Look for one action you can take for each Opportunity. Write down the next tiny action you can take in the next 24 hours for each one.
  7. Pick an action and commit to it today. Just one.

Now you have worked through your fears to get you to place of taking action.  Taking action is the key to achieving your goals.  It is also the key to managing or overcoming your fears.  And the next time you feel afraid, use this process to manage it.

I’d love to hear from you, post your thoughts below!

Recommended Resources

Here’s a classic book on dealing with fear, Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway, by Susan Jeffers.  I’m sure you can find this at your local library, as well as Amazon.com.

Dealing with fears can be daunting, and it can help to work through them with a carefully chosen mentor, trusted friend or coach.  I’d be glad to help you sort through your fears and dismantle them – contact me for more information.

Are you ready to set goals that will excite and inspire you? Goals that move you to action. Rather than drain you, they energize you! Go to my web site www.CoachforaBetterLife.com and download my free report: Five Days to Goals That Inspire You (in the section: “A Gift for You”) and you will not only set the goals, you will also create a daily action plan to achieve them!

Contact Me

I welcome your feedback, comments and questions.  Also, if you’re interested in contributing to this Newsletter, email me your submissions.

Tell me what you think about this newsletter by posting a comment below.

website:  www.CoachforaBetterLife.com
blog:       CoachforaBetterLife.wordpress.com
email:     Lori@CoachforaBetterLife.com

Click here to Subscribe for Free!
By subscribing to this newsletter, you will receive monthly tips, news, and information on how to live a more fulfilling life.

About this Newsletter

© 2008 Lori Howard.  All rights reserved.

You may reprint articles from the Coach for a Better Life Newsletter on your site, blog, electronic newsletter, or in hard copy, as long as you include the following (in its entirety) with your reprint.

“Copyright 2008 Lori Howard.  All rights reserved.  Reprinted from Coach for a Better Life Newsletter, the free e-zine on how to live a more fulfilling life.  Please visit Lori’s website at www.CoachforaBetterLife.com for more information.”

SUBCRIPTION INFORMATION:
If you want to change your email address or unsubscribe, please don’t email me.  Use the link at the end of this email. Thanks.

PRIVACY STATEMENT:
Coach for a Better Life will never share your personal information with anyone, for any reason.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Overcome Your Fear (Newsletter Vol 1 Issue 3)”

  1. Aujan Says:

    This is immensely great Lori!

    We’re all human and therefore we all have fears. Some of us fear death, others fear being alone, and others fear social situations. If you can think of it, there’s someone somewhere that’s afraid of it. But fear is a normal part of life! There are times, though, when fear can hinder us and stop us from enjoying life and experiencing new joys. When your fear starts to limit what you do in life, you need to conquer that fear. I get more inspirational tips lately from bestsum.com

    Bravo! 🙂

  2. How to Re-Ignite Your Passion (Newsletter Vol 1 Issue 11) « Living a Better Life Says:

    […] you feel nothing, or if you feel more anxiety, check out the following: Overcome Your Fear and Dealing with Doubts and Your Dream. If you’re not sure you’re on the right track, try these […]

Leave a Reply

