I Love Chicken!

So – I’m still on my expedition to change my thinking about food.  And how fascinating it has been.  I have been eating what I want, whenever I want – as long as I’m hungry.  Then stopping when I’m full.  Sounds so simple.  Yet I realize – it has been at least 10 years since I’ve allowed myself to eat what I want – without judgment.  And while I typically am hungry when I eat – it never occurred to me to check in and figure out when I’m satisfied.   It all feels decadent…

And I started cooking again.  Most folks who know me don’t think I can cook – mostly because I just don’t cook.  I use microwave dinners (the ‘healthy – better for you’ kind).  Mostly because my meal has often been ‘different’ from everyone else’s at the table.  And because like EVERYONE I know – I’m crazy busy.  Don’t have time to cook.

But I started to play with cooking.  I got some chicken breasts (boneless, skinless) and found that if I bake them at 375degrees for about 40 minutes – they cook up perfectly.  At that point, its all about what you put on it… And I had some fun with THAT.  I found a marinade I bought on vacation a few months back.  Yum.  And then I mixed bread crumbs with an all purpose seasoning and pepper (bread crumbs and the seasoning had salt already)…for the final batch – I used salt, pepper and a balsamic vinegar with a bit of olive oil marinade… prep time was equal to the time it took the oven to preheat.  Cooking time required no attention from me.  I did other things.  And let me say – I am now a chicken FAN!  

And I do feel inspired…who knew I’d enjoy this?  the cooking AND the eating?  it was fun!  And I have leftovers!  I haven’t had leftovers for years… I eat.  I stop.  I put the rest away.  I eat it later. 

I have yet to see if this whole plan will result in a smaller me.  But I am enjoying the process so far.  It feels good.  Feels right.  I’m not binging.  I actually turned DOWN chocolate bread pudding yesterday.  Me from a few weeks ago would have DEVOURED it… I truly didn’t WANT.  Which is a whole new feeling for me.  I like the feeling of not wanting.  Makes the wanting more special.  Or something….

(Check out my new blog with kitchen tips and recipes!)

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “I Love Chicken!”

  1. Francesca Says:

    Way to go. Very interesting story. Who knows you could turn into to the newest star on the cooking channel? Hmmmmm

  2. Yummy Dip - for veggies or chips « Lori’s Kitchen Says:

    […] cooking again (as some of you may know – from the stories of my relationship with food including https://coachforabetterlife.wordpress.com/2008/07/09/i-love-chicken/ ).  And as I’ve begun to redefine my relationship with food, I have been remembering some […]

Leave a Reply

